Agriculture News and Jobs,
Agri Websites

Classification of Black Soil or types of Black Soil

Black soil is classified on the basis of the thickness of layers into three sub groups:

1. Shallow Black Soil:

Shallow Black Soil this type of soil found with thickness less than 30 cm. It exists in Satpura hills (Madhya Pradesh), Bhandara, Nagpur and Satara (Maharashtra), Bijapur and Gulbarga districts (Karnataka ). This type of soil is suitable for the cultivation of jowar, rice, wheat, gram and cotton.

2. Medium Black Soil:

soil thickness ranges between 30 cm and 100 cm. It covers a larger area in Maharashtra, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh.

3. Deep Black Soil:

Thickness is more than 1 meter. It covers large areas in lowland zones of the Peninsular India. The clay content ranges between 40 to 60 per cent. Its reaction is alkaline. The soil is fertile and suitable for crops of cotton, sugarcane, rice, citrus fruits, vegetables etc.